Tamil Eelam Challenge Cup Soccer – 2015 Results

11954810_10153142763613004_9021106932711060051_nOn Saturday August 29th, the Athletics Council of Canadian Tamil Youth Alliance in partnership with Canadian Tamil Sports Association (CTSA) hosted the 7th Annual Tamil Eelam Challenge Cup – Soccer 2015. The event was a great success as many teams came out to participate and therewas an overwhelming amount of support from fans. Everyone was really excited about the competition and all the teams were intensely enthusiastic about performing their best and showcasing their skills, dedication, and hard work in an effort to be crowned the next champions.

CTYA would like to congratulate and recognize all the participating teams. Everyone played with great team spirit and sportsmanship and made the 7th Annual Tamil Eelam Challenge Cup – Soccer 2015 an event to remember. We would also like to give special recognition and congratulations to Seawaves Foortball Club for their great work and for winning the title as the Tamil Eelam Challenge Cup – Soccer 2015 Champions!

This year we were thrilled to have a women’s competition as well. Theepan Football Club played against Balachandran Football Club, and after an exciting game; the Balachandran Football Club took home the Tamil Eelam Challenge Cup- Soccer 2015 Women’s Championship!

The Under 16 tournament was exciting to watch as the Seelan Rangers Football Club competed against Seawaves Football Club. It was an absolute thrilling game and after a hard match, Seawaves Football Club came out and took the Under 16 Tamil Eelam Challenge Cup home. The Men’s games were also very entertaining to watch. The Seawaves Football Club played against Scarborough Rangers Football Club and after a well-played game; the Seawaves Football Club came out victorious and won the 2015 Tamil Eelam Challenge Cup!!!

All of the teams displayed a great level of sportsmanship. It was great to see everyone get inspired by the games and by one another. The sense of teamwork, sportsmanship, and hard work that was displayed by the teams was admirable. Everyone enjoyed the games and the award ceremony was a great way to recognize the talent of the participating youth. It was a great event and now everyone’s looking forward to the next tournament!

Under 6

Champions: Jarvis-A

Runner’s Up: Cheetahs

MVP: #12 Mathuran Ganarajah (from Jarvis)

Under 8

Champions: Cheetahs-A

Runner’s Up: Seelan Rangers

MVP: #19 Harinth Thayanthan (from Cheetahs)


Under 10

Champions: Cheetahs-B

Runner’s Up: Cheetahs-A

MVP: #21 Kavin Thamilventhan (from Cheetahs)

Under 12

Champions: Balachandran

Runner’s Up: Seelan Rangers

MVP: #10 Nitharshan Anuradha (from Balachandran)

Under 14

Champions: Cheetahs

Runner’s Up: Balachandran

MVP: Neethan (from Cheetahs)

Under 16

Champions: Seawaves

Runner’s Up: Seelan Rangers

MVP: Shiyam (from Seawaves)


Champions: Balachandran S.C

Runner’s Up: Theepan S.C


Champions: Seawaves

Runner’s Up: Scarborough Rangers

Karthigai Poo Award for Outstanding Sportsmanship: Niruban (Seawaves)

Vaahai Award for Best Goalkeeper: Velu (Sewaves)

Chenpagam Award for Best Defense: Kevin (Scarborough Rangers)

Siruthai Award for Best Player: Christopher (Scarborough Rangers)

MVP: Vic (Seawaves)



Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply